Date: February 24, 2005

CONTACT: Sally Logue Post,

LUBBOCK – Five Texas Tech University faculty members today were named Horn Professors, the highest honor they can receive.

The Texas Tech University System Board of Regents awarded the titles to Dr. Vivien Allen, Department of Plant and Soil Sciences; Dr. Susan Hendrick, Department of Psychology; Dr. Greg McKenna, Department of Chemical Engineering; Dr. Sunanda Mitra, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering; and Dr. Marilyn Phelan, School of Law.

The Horn Professorship was established in 1966 to recognize scholarly achievement and outstanding service to Texas Tech. The honor is named for Texas Tech’s first president Paul Whitfield Horn. Since its inception, 62 members of the faculty have been appointed Horn Professors; 25 remain on the faculty.

“These men and women are the best in their fields,” said Jon Whitmore, president of Texas Tech University. “Horn Professors are valued on our campus not only for their outstanding academic reputations but also for their contributions to producing the very best education for our students.”

Allen is the Thornton Distinguished Chair and professor of forage crop management and utilization in the Department of Soil Sciences. She joined Texas Tech in 1995. She earned her bachelor’s degree at the University of Tennessee, Martin, and her master’s and doctoral degrees from Louisiana State University. Allen has received a variety of honors and awards from professional and academic organizations including the College of Agriculture and Natural Sciences Research Award and the American Forage and Grassland Council Medallion Award.

Hendrick holds dual appointments as a professor in the Department of Psychology and the Department of Human Development and Family Studies. She joined Texas Tech in 1984. She earned her bachelor’s degree from the University of Minnesota and her master’s and doctoral degrees from Kent State University. Hendrick, who is an expert in relationships, is the recipient of numerous awards including the President’s Academic Achievement award in 2003. She was inducted into the Texas Tech Teaching Academy in 2002.

McKenna holds the John R. Bradford Chair in Engineering in the Department of Chemical Engineering. He came to Texas Tech in 1999 and served as chairman of the department from 2001 to 2004. McKenna earned his bachelor’s degree from the United States Air Force Academy, his master’s degree from Massachusetts Institute of Technology and his doctorate from the University of Utah. He has received the Society of Plastics Engineers International Award, the highest honor offered by the association, among other awards.

Mitra is a professor in the Texas Tech Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering and an adjunct professor in the Department of Radiology at the Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center. She joined Texas Tech in 1984. Mitra received her bachelor’s and master’s degrees from Calcutta University, India, and her doctorate from Marburg University in the Federal Republic of Germany. Among her many awards is the Barnie E. Rushing Jr. Distinguished Research Award in 2002.

Phelan is the Robert H. Bean Professor of Law in the Texas Tech School of Law. She joined Texas Tech in 1974. She earned her bachelor’s, master’s and doctoral degrees from Texas Tech University and her law degree from the University Of Texas. An expert in taxation, art and museum law, Phelan has received the President’s Excellence in Teaching Award and the Faculty Research award. She also served as general counsel for Texas Tech University and the Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center from 1977-1984.