Knight Raiders to Host Southwest Collegiate Championship

The chess tournament is five rounds of rapid chess.


WHAT: The Texas Tech University Knight Raiders chess team will host the Southwest Collegiate Championship, which consists of five rounds of highly competitive chess.

The five schools competing are Texas Tech, University of Texas at Dallas, University of Texas at Rio Grande Valley, Texas State University and University of Oklahoma. Texas Tech and the University of Texas at Dallas both recently qualified for the final four collegiate chess championship which will take place March 24-26 in New York City.

WHEN: 9 a.m. Saturday (Feb. 25)

WHERE: Texas Tech Club West Suite, Jones AT&T Stadium, 550 University Ave.

CONTACT: Opal Gonzales, unit coordinator, chess program, Division of Institutional Diversity, Equity and Community Engagement, Texas Tech University, (806) 834-5915 or

Find Texas Tech news, experts and story ideas at Texas Tech Today Media Resources or follow us on Twitter.

Texas Tech Chess Program

Texas Tech Chess Program

Through the Texas Tech Chess Program, the university has focused its resources on providing scholarships for players, conducting research, championing scholastic, college and womens chess and reaching out to chess enthusiasts of all ages.

Play chess for Texas Tech