Texas Tech University

Judging Teams Open Fall with Solid Showing

George Watson

September 19, 2016

National Barrow Show

The processed meat judging team took first and livestock judging team took second at the National Barrow Show in Minnesota.

National Barrow Competition

The Texas Tech University livestock judging and processed meat judging teams opened the fall competition schedule with a solid showing recently at the National Barrow Show in Austin, Minnesota.

Hosted by Hormel and sponsored by Kemin, it was just the second year the processed meat competition has been held. Texas Tech's team took first place out of 10 undergraduate teams, outpacing South Dakota State by 35 points. They finished in questions and second in fresh pork and processed meat.

Clay Bendele, a senior from Hondo, captured the overall high individual honor while Erin Beyer, a senior from Brookshire, finished second, eight points behind Bendele.

Sean Morrow, a senior from Nolan, and Dean Chapman, a sophomore from Sweetwater, rounded out the team, which is coached by Andrea Garmyn, a research assistant professor in the Department of Animal and Food Sciences.

The livestock judging team opened defense of its eighth national championship by finishing second in the competition, 13 points behind Oklahoma State.

L.J. Young, a junior from Pendleton, Indiana, was the top competitor for Texas Tech, finishing third overall with 669 points. Brody Halfman, a senior from Garden City, also finished in the top 10, accumulating 664 points to finish ninth.

Jonathan Nieman, a senior from New Home, finished 17th with 659 points. Other members of the livestock judging team are:

  • Gabe Jennings a senior from Fredonia
  • Zane Webster, a senior from San Simon, Arizona
  • Chama Martin, a senior from Mason
  • Dakota Crissman, a senior from Bells

Ryan Rathmann, an associate professor and the John W. and Doris Jones professorship in animal and food sciences, coaches the team. He is assisted by Jon DeClerck.

Find Texas Tech news, experts and story ideas at Texas Tech Today Media Resources or follow us on Twitter.