Student Media Awarded Recognition from State

The Daily Toreador and La Ventana received 27 awards at the 2016 Texas Intercollegiate Press Association convention.

Texas Tech University’s student-run publications, the Daily Toreador and La Ventana, were recognized at the Texas Intercollegiate Press Association (TIPA) convention this spring and took home several honors.

The convention was held in Dallas, March 31-April 2. The two publications won a combined total of 27 awards. Both the newspaper and yearbook are student-run media publications.

Susan Peterson, director of Student Media, said the students have the authority to make all content decisions, from story ideas to final production.

“They had an outstanding year of news coverage and it’s nice to see our students recognized for their hard work and dedication,” Peterson said.

The Daily Toreador, Texas Tech’s student newspaper, was awarded an honorable mention in overall excellence from TIPA.

Additional awards given to the newspaper include:

  • News story, first place: Amy Cunningham
  • News photo, first place: Emily de Santos
  • Photo illustrations, first place: Duncan Stanley, Emily de Santos and Kirby Crumpler
  • Page-onedesign, first place: Anthony Estolano
  • Sports page design, first place: Anthony Estolano
  • In-depth reporting, second place: Amy Cunningham
  • Sports feature story, third place: Everett Corder
  • Opinion/editorial page design, third place: Daily Toreador Staff
  • Single-subject presentation design, third place: Daily Toreador Staff
  • News story, honorable mention: Diego Gaytan
  • Editorial cartoon, honorable mention: Nate Wells

La Ventana, Texas Tech’s yearbook, received third place in overall excellence from TIPA.

Additional awards given to the yearbook include:

  • Sports feature photo, first place: Emily de Santos
  • Feature photo, first place: Duncan Stanley
  • Feature/student life, first place: Molly Fisher
  • Organizations, first place: Molly Fisher
  • Organizations copy, first place: Davian Hopkins
  • End sheets, second place: Kymbre Kupatt and Brooke Hurley
  • Information graphic, second place: Brooke Hurley
  • Sports copy, third place: Jeremy Krakosky
  • Sports, honorable mention: Molly Fisher
  • Sports action photo, honorable mention: Duncan Stanley
  • Sports feature photo, honorable mention: Jacob Snow
  • Academic copy, honorable mention: Kymbre Kupatt
  • Information graphic, honorable mention: Brooke Hurley

College of Media & Communication

College of Media & Communication at Texas Tech offers undergraduate degrees in various communications-related disciplines including:

The College also offers graduate degrees in communications to prepare students for careers in the communications industry, communications research and academia.

Linked In
More Stories

Student Earns Honors at PRWeek Awards Ceremony

The Hub@TTU Earns Several National Awards

College of Media & Communication Student Named Finalist in Photo Competition