Texas Tech University

Texas Tech Crowns 2015 Homecoming King and Queen

K'Leigh Sims

October 10, 2015

Ben Sharp and Lauren Gfroerer were announced during halftime of the Texas Tech–Iowa State football game.

Benjamin Sharp and Lauren Gfroerer
Ben Sharp and Lauren Gfroerer were crowned as the 2015 homecoming king and queen

Ben Sharp of Borger and Lauren Gfroerer of Austin were named the 2015 Texas Tech University homecoming king and queen during halftime of the Texas Tech–Iowa State football game Saturday (Oct. 10) at Jones AT&T Stadium. Texas Tech President M. Duane Nellis and wife Ruthie crowned the winners.

The 2014 homecoming king and queen, Texas Tech Student Body President Holton Westbrook from Stephenville and Bailey Iverson from Rowlett, were present during the crowning ceremony.

Sharp represented Beta Upsilon Chi fraternity and Gfroerer represented Delta Gamma sorority.

The student body voted for the winners after the homecoming court was announced Friday (Oct. 9) at the Rowdy Raider Rally at the Student Union Building. Eleven men and 10 women were originally announced at the Student Organization Sing Tuesday (Oct. 6) with a resume process and were narrowed to five king candidates and six queen candidates after an interview process.

In addition to Sharp and Gfroerer, the 2015 homecoming court included:

  • Evan Estes, an energy commerce major from Longview, representing the Rawls College of Business Ambassadors
  • Arren Wells, an accounting and finance major from Albuquerque, New Mexico, representing Pi Kappa Alpha fraternity
  • Charlie Mitchell, a petroleum engineering major from Dallas, representing Phi Gamma Delta fraternity
  • Sergio Molinar, an industrial engineering major from Hobbs, New Mexico, representing President's Select
  • Victoria Cervantes, a retail management major from Sugar Land, representing Chi Omega sorority
  • Sarah Berry, a political science major from San Antonio, representing Alpha Phi sorority
  • Jennifer Thompson, an early childhood education major from Rowlett, representing Delta Delta Delta sorority
  • Emily Latham, a marketing major from Poetry, representing Mortar Board
  • Ashley Vaughan, a political science major from Boerne, representing Alpha Delta Pi sorority