Texas Tech Graduate School Announces Fellowship Recipients

The program has awarded 40 fellowships to doctoral students.


The Texas Tech University Graduate School has announced 40 recipients of the Doctoral Dissertation Completion Fellowship Program for the 2015-16 academic year.

The program, designed to increase the completion rate of doctoral students and enhance recruitment of new students, provides funding for students to dedicate their time to completing their dissertation in the upcoming academic year. The recipients come from 20 different programs.

"The demand for doctoral degree holders is increasing because they drive innovation and creative endeavors in all fields," said Mark Sheridan, vice provost for graduate affairs and dean of the Graduate School. "This fellowship program will enable Texas Tech to move doctoral degree recipients into the workforce more quickly to meet this demand and to contribute to the economic vitality of the region, the state and the nation."

The students selected for the upcoming academic year are:
• Rola Aamar, marriage and family therapy
• Ahmed Alzahabi, petroleum engineering
• Girmay Berhie, land-use planning, management and design
• Alejandro Bilbao, mechanical engineering
• Amanda Cano, environmental toxicology
• Omar Corral, Spanish
• Kaushik Das, mechanical engineering
• Chase Dearinger, English
• Tri Doan, electrical engineering
• Huseyin Ekinci, electrical engineering
• Dan Fang, human development and family studies
• Elizabeth Farley-Dawson, biology
• Harshvardhan Gazula, industrial engineering
• Eshan Gurung, chemistry
• Bobbie Harman, educational psychology
• Molla Hasan, mechanical engineering
• Chloe Honum, English
• Howard Huynh, biology
• Sarah Ison, animal sciences
• Narayan Kandel, biology
• Bennett Kimbell, history
• Nicole Lee, mass communications
• Areerat Lertchaipitak, personal financial planning
• Lili Liu, mechanical engineering
• Joanna Mendez-Pounds, marriage and family therapy
• Neelam Mishra, biology
• Bereket Okbu, chemistry
• Eakamon Oumtrakool, personal financial planning
• Neha Phadke, chemistry
• Kathleen Phelan, counselor education
• Kendra Phelps, zoology
• Erin Pumroy, English
• Md Mizanur Rahman, chemical engineering
• Donald Ramirez, chemistry
• Kristen Rogers, fine arts and theatre
• Scott Starr, biology
• Md Rakib Uddin, electrical engineering
• Wondamgegne Whibesilassie, wildlife, aquatics and wildlands science and management
• Shawna White, mass communications

Participants were selected based on quality of research summary, credentials, likelihood of completing their dissertation within 12 months, quality of training environment and mentoring plan, and impact of the award on increasing the number of doctoral students. Students were endorsed by their department or program chairs.

Graduate School

The Graduate School at Texas Tech University offers unlimited opportunity for advancement with more than 160 different masters and doctoral degree programs complemented by interdisciplinary programs from 50 specialized centers and institutes.

More than 5,300 graduate and professional students are currently enrolled in the Graduate School.

From toxic waste research to archaeology, from land-use programs to nationally known laser fingerprint detection studies, the Graduate School offers unlimited opportunity for aspiring scholars.

More Stories

Graduate Research Poster Winners Announced

Graduate Student Wins International Affairs Fellowship

Graduate Student Receives Grand Prize for Young Minority Investigatore