Texas Tech Experts Available for Halloween Stories

Halloween is around the corner, and Texas Tech University has a variety of faculty members who can add expertise to your holiday stories.

Halloween is around the corner, and Texas Tech University has a variety of faculty members who can add expertise to your holiday stories.

So, whether you're searching for comments about vampires and zombies and why they continue to successfully infiltrate the entertainment industry, or you want to know how much Americans plan to spend this Halloween, we have you covered.

Dia de los Muertos (Day of the Dead)

Tina Fuentes, director of the School of Art, (806) 834-7642,tina.fuentes@ttu.edu.

  • Fuentes can speak to the history of the Mexican celebration: the ofrendas (alters) and the ceremonies on the last day. She has experienced many of the ceremonies in Mexico.

Jane Bell, senior director, International Cultural Center, (806) 834-8346, jane.bell@ttu.edu.

  • Bell can speak to the modern-day beliefs of Dia de los Muertos, especially decorations and objects associated with the celebrations. She also helps organize the Lubbock Dia de los Muertos procession each year.

Ghosts

Genaro J. Perez, professor of Hispanic literature, (806) 834-1003, genaro.perez@ttu.edu.

  • Perez can speak to ghosts, legends and the devil in Mexican literature.

Law

Vickie Sutton, Horn Professor of Law and director of the Center for Biodefense, Texas Tech School of Law, (806) 834-1752, vickie.sutton@ttu.edu.

Shopping Frenzy

Debbie Laverie, Jerry S. Rawls and Piper Professor in marketing, (806) 834-3953, debbie.laverie@ttu.edu.

  • Laverie can speak to the economic outlook for retailers and how much consumers will spend this Halloween.

Vampires

Erin Collopy, associate chair of classical and modern languages, (806) 834-8497, erin.collopy@ttu.edu.

  • Collopy can speak to the sexy vampires of today's movies and how they are very different from the monsters of eastern European folklore. She also has studied vampires' origins and how their image has changed in pop culture.

Zombies and Horror Movies

Rob Weiner, pop-culture guru and subject librarian for Texas Tech University Libraries, (806) 742-2238 ext. 282, rob.weiner@ttu.edu.

  • Weiner can speak to horror in movies, literature and comics. He has taught a class called: “Zombie Culture: The Zombie in History, Film, Literature, Sequential Art and the Popular Imagination.”

Find Texas Tech news, experts and story ideas at Texas Tech Today Media Resources or follow us on Twitter.