Texas Tech Co-Hosts Hydraulic Fracturing Conference

The event will take place Sept. 4-5.

WHAT: Fracturing Impacts and Technologies Conference

WHEN: 8:30 a.m.-6 p.m. Sept. 4 and 8:30 a.m.-3 p.m. Sept. 5

WHERE: Overton Hotel and Conference Center, 2322 Mac Davis Lane EVENT: Texas Tech University and Air & Waste Management Association will host The Fracturing Impacts and Technologies Conference. The two-day conference aims to foster an interdisciplinary dialogue on hydraulic fracturing in West Texas.

The general public can attend at $280, $495 for the full conference or $50 for only the special investor/landowner session held from 1:30-5 p.m. Sept. 4. Journalists covering the event are welcome to attend for free.

For more information or to see a list of sessions and presentations, visit the event website. For media credentials or to attend the conference, contact Kay Tindle (information below). The Air & Waste Management Association (A&WMA) is a nonprofit, nonpartisan professional organization that enhances knowledge and expertise by providing a neutral forum for information exchange, professional development, networking opportunities, public education and outreach to more than 5,000 environmental professionals in 65 countries. A&WMA promotes global environmental responsibility and increases the effectiveness of organizations to make critical decisions that benefit society.

The conference will present and discuss current innovations and applications for reducing the environmental impact of hydraulic fracturing operations (also known as fracking) and will feature distinguished speakers including:

  • George E. King, distinguished engineering advisor for Apache Corp.
  • Ron Curry, Region 6 regional administrator for the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency.
  • Albert B. Yost, senior management technical advisor of oil and gas programs in the strategic center for natural gas and oil for the U.S. Department of Energy.
  • Lynne Fahlquist, public information officer of Texas Water Science Center at the U.S. Geological Survey.
  • Leslie Savage, chief geologist of the Oil and Gas Division of the Texas Railroad Commission.
  • Mike Watts, director of fracture simulation affairs for Halliburton Energy Services Inc.

Texas Tech Experts include:

  • Danny Reible, Donovan Maddox Distinguished Engineering Chair and director of the Unconventional Production Technology and Environmental Consortium.
  • Ryan Williams, assistant professor of agricultural & applied economics.
  • Michael Giberson, associate professor of practice in the area of energy, economics and law with the Rawls College of Business.
  • David Klein, associate professor in the Department of Environmental Toxicology.
  • Mohammed Soliman, George P. Livermore Chair and professor of petroleum.