Recipients of Internal Competitive Funding Opportunity Award Announced

This year, 82 proposals were submitted and a total of $599,994 was awarded.

Texas Tech’s second internal competitive funding opportunity funded 52 faculty members to advance scholarship in the Creative Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences.

“This year’s award recipients represent the excellent faculty we have at Texas Tech,” said interim president Lawrence Schovanec. “I’m pleased that we are able to fund an internal competition to help faculty in areas that do not traditionally have access to external funding.”

This year, 82 proposals were submitted and a total of $599,994 was awarded. Last year, $441,506 was awarded to 40 faculty members. Applications received written reviews and were further subjected to panel discussions. Each proposal submitted was evaluated using specific criteria for each of four award levels. All applicants will receive feedback from the reviews. Four types of awards were funded:

  • Level 1, up to $3,000 – 6 proposals funded
  • Level 2, up to $10,000 – 27 proposals funded
  • Level 3, up to $20,000 – 17 proposals funded
  • Level 4, up to $40,000 – 2 proposals funded.

“Texas Tech has outstanding faculty in all areas,” said provost Bob Smith. “We intend for these awards to help our faculty in the creative arts, humanities and social sciences expand their horizons. These funds should be transformational and we hope that faculty members foster collaborations within and outside of their disciplines.”

The funds can be used in many ways including purchasing equipment or computers, traveling to conferences, or for collaboration, travel for presentations, to support applications for distinguished faculty award opportunities, early scholarship development, new areas of work, and supporting graduate students or undergraduate research efforts.

“Texas Tech honors creative activity and scholarship,” said Michael San Francisco, interim vice president for research. “The proposals we received this year were excellent. These faculty members represent the vast and varied scholarship and creative activity at Texas Tech. We are pleased to provide an opportunity for our faculty in the creative arts, humanities and social sciences to expand and enhance their work.”

The competition was overseen by a steering committee comprising Michael San Francisco, chair; Brian Steel, associate dean in the College of Visual and Performing Arts; David Larmour, Horn professor in the Department of Classical and Modern Languages and Literatures; Aliza Wong, associate professor of history and Faculty Senate research committee chair; and Laura Beard, professor and assistant dean in the College of Arts and Sciences.

The list of winners and their topics are available at

Office of the Vice President for Research

The Office of the Vice President for Research is dedicated to developing new technologies for a better world. From the study of the smallest nanoparticles to comprehensive wind power systems, from research in autism and addiction, to our pioneering work in STEM education, our researchers are finding ways to solve problems, improve lives and find new solutions to the world’s critical needs.



Raider Power: New Student Convocation Celebrates School Spirit, Tradition

Advisory Council Named for 16th Texas Tech President Search

Lubbock High School Senior Honored as First Admitted Student for 2013-14