College of Human Sciences Honors Distinguished Alumni and Faculty

Distinguished Alumni Award, New Achiever Award, Lifetime Distinguished Service Award and Distinguished Leadership Award winners named.

Written by Cory Chandler

Texas Tech University’s College of Human Sciences announces the recipients of the Distinguished Alumni Award, New Achiever Award, Lifetime Distinguished Service Award and Distinguished Leadership Award.

The Distinguished Alumni Award is given to graduates of Texas Tech’s College of Human Sciences who have advanced the reputation of the college through their significant achievements.

The recipients of the Distinguished Alumna Award:

Marci K. Armstrong, associate dean of graduate programs for the Cox School of Business at Southern Methodist University.

Armstrong provides strategic leadership for master’s programs. A six-time teaching award honoree, Armstrong teaches marketing courses to MBA students and also oversees operations of graduate admissions, student services, career management services, diversity initiatives and global programs.

She is an active consultant and executive education provider.

Sheri L. Dragoo, associate professor of programs in fashion & textiles in the School of Management, College of Arts and Sciences at Texas Woman’s University.

Dragoo teaches fashion design and illustration and pursues research in natural fibers such as cotton, wool and mohair. She also produces fashion shows for the Kim Dawson Agency in Dallas, and served as master tailor and alterations manager during Convention Week for the J. Williams Agency in Atlanta.

She took a five-year sabbatical from teaching to work for the Texas Department of Agriculture as Director of Fiber Marketing for Texas.

Mary E. Hise, director of medical affairs, North America, IV therapy and nutrition for Baxter Healthcare, leads efforts in nutrition-related projects with clinical research organizations to design and execute clinical trials that may include Phase I through Phase IV trials.

She provides clinical expertise to various Baxter business units and evaluates  opportunities for partnership development in the areas of enteral and parenteral nutrition.

She also maintains an academic appointment in the Department of Dietetics and Nutrition at the University of Kansas Medical Center.

Yolanda “Yolie” Hagerty-Jones, principal, C.D. Landolt Elementary School, Clear Creek Independent School District.

Hagerty-Jones has implemented literacy, science and math programs that led her school – one of only four bilingual campuses in Clear Creek Independent School District – to achieve the Texas Education Agency’s Exemplary status.

Hagerty-Jones was named 2007-2008 Elementary Principal of the Year award for CCISD – the largest TEA Recognized district in Texas, with 36,000 students and 25 elementary schools.

The New Achiever Award is given to graduates from within the last 12 years who have enhanced the reputation of the College of Human Sciences through their emerging achievements.

The recipient of the New Achiever Award:

Stephanie Michele Smith, senior associate, Alston & Bird LLP, works in the Renewable Energy Group of Alston & Bird LLP. She primarily works with companies that develop and construct wind, solar and biofuels projects, providing creative and strategic advice in addition to traditional legal counsel. She also represents the lenders who finance those projects.

Her clients include some of the largest wind and solar energy developers in the U.S.,  as well as investment funds and other investment vehicles active in renewable energy and carbon credit trading.

The Lifetime Distinguished Service Award is reserved for those who have significantly advanced the college and its goals of excellence in teaching, research and service. Candidates for this award may or may not be graduates of the college.

The recipient of the Lifetime Distinguished Service Award:

Angela  and Douglas Boren, members of the Spur and Matador Societies who have created scholarship endowments on campus including the Douglas and Angela Boren Scholarship Endowment in Human Sciences and have given a substantial  bequest to benefit the College of Human Sciences.

Angela Boren was an assistant professor at Texas Tech in what was then the Department of Food and Nutrition from 1960-1982 and also taught two years of elementary education and six years of high school home economics. She served on the Texas Tech Foundation Board and is a  1989 recipient of the College of Human Sciences Distinguished Alumna Award.

Douglas Boren is trustee/director of the Carillion Senior Life Care Community and a member of the Marsha Sharp Leadership Circle. He retired from Plains National Bank as senior vice president.

The recipient of the Distinguished Leadership Award:

Gary Petersen, partner in EnCap Investments. Petersen co-founded EnCap Investments, L.P. in 1988. The firm, located in Dallas and Houston, specializes in procuring and managing institutional capital and providing private equity to exploration and production companies.

EnCap has become the largest private source of institutional capital for the U.S. oil and gas industry, providing more   than $6 billion in capital over the past ten years from 160 U.S. and European institutions, including the Texas Tech Foundation.

CONTACT: Jo Ann Altman, supervisor of college development and external relations, College of Human Sciences, (806) 742- 3264, or