Texas Tech’s ConocoPhillips SPIRIT Scholarship Announces List of Scholars

Texas Tech has announced the ConocoPhillips SPIRIT Scholars of 2009-2010.

Written by Erin Hawes

There are currently 20 spirit scholars at Texas Tech. Nine are returning students. For the first time this year there is one student representing the Department of Geosciences, while 13 students represent the Edward E. Whitacre Jr. College of Engineering, and the other six represent the Rawls College of Business. Six of these students are enrolled in the Honors College.

The list of scholars includes:

  • Pejmon Abrarpour, mechanical engineering major from Katy
  • Christen Bahret, energy commerce major from Katy
  • Aaron Clements, Honors College and mechanical engineering major from Flint
  • Clay Cowling, Honors College and energy commerce major from Lubbock
  • Kimberly Davis, chemical engineering major from San Antonio
  • Ryan Dixon, Honors College and energy commerce from Houston
  • Anne Freeman, Honors College and chemical engineering major from Artesia, N.M.
  • Jessica Goldsmith, petroleum engineering major from Midland
  • Jeanette Knight, chemical engineering major from Houston
  • Brandon Lakatta, energy commerce major from Mansfield
  • Nick Lehman, Honors College and mechanical engineering major from Vernon
  • Amber Lubbers, Honors College and chemical engineering from Midland
  • Robert Morrison, energy commerce major from Corpus Christi
  • Michael Muncy, a master’s student in geology from Fort Worth
  • Joseph Patterson, petroleum engineering major from Wooster, Ohio
  • Timothy Patterson, electrical engineering major from Lubbock
  • Ashley Ray, chemical engineering major from Dallas
  • Ashlee Schertz, energy commerce major from Sanger
  • Brian Schmitt, petroleum engineering major from Rowlett
  • Maaroof Shahriar, petroleum engineering doctoral student from The United Arab Emirates


There is still time to apply for the SPIRIT Scholars Program for those who qualify. The deadline is Oct. 30.


Qualified applicants should have sophomore standing or higher with at least a 3.25 GPA and fulltime enrollment in engineering, accounting, energy commerce, finance, or graduate geosciences disciplines.

The SPIRIT program was created to represent the core values of ConocoPhillips: Safety, People, Integrity, Responsibility, Innovation and Teamwork.

To apply, visit http://www.scholarships.ttu.edu/Howtoapply.aspx

CONTACT: Erin Wyatt, coordinator, Office of Institutional Advancement, Texas Tech University, (806) 742-1780 ext. 223, or erin.m.wyatt@ttu.edu.