Texas Tech Receives NCAA Certification

University athletic program shows outstanding commitment to academic integrity, governance and rules compliance as well as equity and student-athlete well-being.

Written by Cory Chandler

In 2008, Texas Tech began a year-long, campus-wide self study of its athletics programs as part of the NCAA Division I athletics certification program.

In 2008, Texas Tech began a year-long, campus-wide self study of its athletics programs as part of the NCAA Division I athletics certification program.

Texas Tech University received certification from the NCAA Division I Committee on Athletics Certification April 16.

A designation of certified means that an institution operates its athletics program in substantial conformity with operating principles adopted by the Division I membership.

“The self-study opened the athletic department up to review by the rest of the campus community,” said President Guy Bailey. “Our athletic department runs very well, and this certification demonstrates our commitment to the principles of integrity, equity and academic excellence espoused by the NCAA.”

The results follow a year-long, campus-wide study of Texas Tech athletics programs initiated in February 2008 as part of the NCAA Division I athletics certification program. It included a review of these primary components: governance and commitment to rules compliance; academic integrity; equity; and student-athlete well-being.

“We appreciate the Campus Certification Committee led by Provost Bill Marcy for its hard work and effort during this process,” Texas Tech Director of Athletics Gerald Myers said. “The NCAA Peer Review Committee evaluated all areas of the athletic department. We are pleased that Texas Tech was certified in all areas without conditions.”

Athletics certification exists to ensure integrity in the institution’s athletics program and to assist institutions in improving their athletics departments. NCAA legislation mandating athletics certification was adopted in 1993.

Texas Tech completed its first certification self-study in 1999 and was unconditionally certified by the NCAA.

The NCAA announced Texas Tech’s status among 35 Division I member institutions that have undergone the association’s second cycle of athletics certification.

The following 35 institutions were certified:

  • Boston College
  • Brigham Young University
  • California State University, Fresno
  • Cornell University
  • George Washington University
  • Hampton University
  • Indiana State University
  • Morehead State University
  • Murray State University
  • New Mexico State University
  • Norfolk State University
  • Northern Arizona University
  • Ohio University
  • Prairie View A&M University
  • Princeton University
  • Providence College
  • Rice University
  • Sam Houston State University
  • Stanford University
  • Temple University
  • Tennessee State University
  • Texas State University, San Marcos
  • Texas Tech University
  • Weber State University
  • United States Military Academy
  • University of Alabama at Birmingham
  • University of Arkansas, Little Rock
  • University of California, Santa Barbara
  • University of Illinois, Champaign
  • University of Louisiana at Lafayette
  • University of Louisiana at Monroe
  • University of Minnesota, Twin Cities
  • University of Mississippi
  • University of Missouri, Kansas City
  • University of Wisconsin, Milwaukee

In addition, two Division I institutions have been certified with conditions: Grambling State University and Howard University.

This classification means the institution is considered to be operating its athletics program in substantial conformity with operating principles adopted by the NCAA's Division I membership. However, problems identified during the course of the institution's self-study and the peer-review team's evaluation were considered serious enough by the Committee on Athletics Certification to cause it to withhold full certification until those problems have been corrected.

The NCAA does not divulge specific information related to an institution’s self-study or peer-review visit or specific information concerning the conditions set forth for certification. The second round of athletics certifications is being completed on a 10-year cycle rather than the five-year cycle used during the initial certification process.

All 326 active Division I members participate in the certification process. The Division I Committee on Athletics Certification preliminarily reviews an institution’s certification materials and provides a list of issues identified during the evaluation. The university then hosts a visit by peer reviewers who file a report regarding the institution’s resolution of those issues before a final certification decision is rendered. An institution’s failure to satisfactorily respond to the committee may negatively impact certification status.

The members of the Committee on Athletics Certification are:

  • Robert Bernardi, Nicholls State University
  • McKinley Boston Jr., New Mexico State University
  • Casey Comoroski, Missouri State University
  • Beatrice Crane Banford, Marshall University
  • Amy Folan, University of Texas at Austin
  • Judy Genshaft, University of South Florida
  • Joanne Glasser, Bradley University
  • Wendy Guthrie, West Coast Conference
  • Nathan Hatch (chair), Wake Forest University
  • Brian Linnane, Loyola College (Maryland)
  • Barbara Luebke, University of Rhode Island
  • M. Dianne Murphy, Columbia University-Barnard College
  • Gloria Nevarez, University of Oklahoma
  • Sheila Patterson, Cleveland State University
  • Donald Pope-Davis, University of Notre Dame
  • Allison Rich, California State University, Fullerton
  • Mark Richard, Auburn University
  • Jon Steinbrecher, Ohio Valley Conference