Employees Honored with Quality Service Awards

Staff members recognized for representing the university with excellent customer service.

Nineteen staff members were honored with Quality Service awards for their excellent customer service. Click to enlarge.

Outstanding members of the university staff were honored May 6 with Quality Service Awards.

The awards, established in 1990, recognize those who provide excellent customer service in the performance of their jobs.

“Our faculty and staff are the lifeblood of this institution and we really appreciate them,” said Chancellor Kent Hance.

“It’s important that we take this opportunity to recognize some of our staff members who have really distinguished themselves in the past year.”

This year, three staff members received the top award, the Chancellor’s Award of Excellence in Quality Service and a $1,500 check. Sixteen individuals received the President’s Quality Service Award, which carries a $500 cash award.

Winners were nominated for the awards and selected by a committee. Nominees are judged on a number of criteria based on outstanding customer service.

Chancellor's Award of Excellence in Quality Service:

  • Margarito “Sammy” Arguello, MailTech
  • Kim Brock, Office of International Affairs
  • Sean Duggan, University Student Housing

President's Quality Service Award:

  • Delia Arteaga-Flores, Division of Outreach and Distance Education, Texas Tech University Independent School District
  • Melyssa Boswell, School of Law Library
  • Randy Norwood, School of Law Library
  • George Crawford, Physical Plant
  • James Day, Division of Outreach and Distance Education
  • David Dorsett, Office of the Vice President for Research
  • Carlene Kelly, Technology Support
  • Karen Medlin, Texas Tech University Press
  • Norma Paige, College of Arts and Sciences student division
  • Jerry Perez, High Performance Computing Center
  • Lindsay Reed, College of Human Sciences
  • Maria Rosales, Grounds Maintenance
  • Norma Sanchez; Department of Nutrition, Hospitality and Retailing
  • Yesenia Sanchez, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry
  • Joann Stephenson, Department of Health, Exercise and Sports Sciences
  • Vi Vance, Grounds Maintenance


Story produced by the Office of Communications and Marketing, (806) 742-2136. Photo by Joey Hernandez.