Texas Tech Names President's Excellence in Diversity and Equity Award Winners

Four individuals receive Texas Tech University’s 2007-2008 President's Excellence in Diversity and Equity Awards.

Four individuals today (April 1) were presented with Texas Tech University’s 2007-2008 President’s Excellence in Diversity and Equity Awards.

Two students, a faculty member and a member of the Texas Tech staff received the awards for their individual efforts in promoting diversity and equity across the university during a 3 p.m. reception at the Merket Alumni Center.

The winners are Loretta Bradley, Horn Professor in the College of Education received the faculty award; Kerry Hooks, unit assistant director in the University Student Housing received the staff award and Karla Carlo of Lubbock and Ricky Sherfield of Tyler were selected as the student winners.

The four winners were selected based on the consistency and impact of their efforts to engage in activities on and off campus that promote the value of diversity and the importance of equity at all academic levels of the university. Awards were presented by President Jon Whitmore and Juan Munoz, special assistant for institutional diversity in the Office of the President.

"With each consecutive year of the award, it makes clear the wide swath of faculty, staff and students that significantly contribute to make Texas Tech a university where people from all backgrounds can distinguish themselves commensurately with their personal drive and abilities. The award recipients truly illustrate that, from here it is possible," said Munoz.

Thirty-five individuals representing all facets of the university were nominated for the awards.