Texas Tech’s Best and Brightest Shine in Scholarship Spotlight

Twenty students won Mary W. Doak Housing Scholarships from the Department of Housing and Residence Life.

Written by: Gretchen Pressley

Texas Tech University’s Department of Housing and Residence Life awarded 20 students the Mary W. Doak Housing Scholarship, a $1,000 merit scholarship for the next academic term. The money will go toward housing costs, books and other college expenses.

The recipients received the honor scholarship based on their academic performance, involvement on campus, community service and leadership experience. Housing and Residence Life also looked at students’ descriptions of how living on campus contributed to their college success and impacted their experience at Texas Tech.

"With an average GPA of 3.73, these recipients are truly some of the best examples of academic success at Texas Tech," said Sean Duggan, managing director of Housing & Residence Life. "Housing & Residence Life is proud to promote these students’ learning experience by investing in their academic success here at Texas Tech University."

The following students won the 2007-2008 Mary W. Doak Housing Scholarship:

• Jayme Allison, a junior public relations major from New Braunfels, Texas
• Lisa Atkins, a sophomore microbiology major from Austin, Texas
• Alexander Boothby, a sophomore electrical engineering major from Austin, Texas
• Joshua Borunda, a sophomore management/marketing major from El Paso, Texas
• Paul Carpenter, a sophomore electrical engineering major from Fortworth, Texas
• Brittany Chan, a junior psychology major from Spring, Texas
• Kristin Eskew, a sophomore human development and family studies major from Robinson, Texas
• Chinelo Ikpeama, a junior English/pre-med major from Friendsworth, Texas
• Sara Kutscher, a senior finance major from Dallas, Texas
• Esha Lukose, a sophomore sociology/pre-med major from Missouri, Texas
• Sibi Matthew, a senior mechanical engineering major from Kuwait
• Priscilla Mechenbier, a junior exercise and sports medicine major from Amarillo, Texas
• Jeannie Quiroz, a sophomore pre-physical therapy major from San Antonio, Texas
• Megan Smith, a senior nutritional science major from Amarillo, Texas
• Rebecca Smith, a sophomore music education major from San Antonio, Texas
• Darlington Ukwu, a junior petroleum engineering major from San Antonio, Texas
• Brittany Vander Hey, a sophomore advertising major from Cypress, Texas
• Jeffri Vaughn, a sophomore accounting/COBA major from Floydada, Texas
• Ben Williams, a junior broadcast journalism major from Gruver, Texas
• Megan Yeary, a sophomore public relations major from Fair Oaks Ranch, Texas

Mary W. Doak served as the first dean of women from the university’s opening in 1925. She retired to become a member of the English faculty in 1945. The Mary W. Doak scholarship is named in honor of her accomplishments at Texas Tech. The Department of Housing and Residence Life is located in Doak Hall, also named for the first dean of women.

Sean Duggan, managing director of Housing & Residence Life, (806) 742-2661 or s.duggan@ttu.edu